Foundation Stage Curriculum

Welcome to Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) at Flanderwell Primary School!

Allow me to introduce myself- I am Mrs Otter, Foundation Stage Leader and I am immensely proud of our school’s EYFS! We pride ourselves in delivering an outstanding education for all our pupils. Our learning environments are highly stimulating and inviting, and act as a catalyst for children to thrive in their development and learning. Via the highly engaging and broad curriculum we deliver, the team’s passion and dedication and our high standard of expectation,  all our learners succeed and achieve their full potential. As a result Flanderwell’s EYFS has seen outstanding achievements in progress and attainment.

Please visit our Foundation Stage teaching pages to find out more about what is happening in each class. These can be found under the ‘classes’ section of our website.

Development Matters – The EYFS Curriculum

Below is the EYFS curriculum as delivered in school. However, if you would like to know more about how to help your child achieve their learning milestones at home, please download and use the following documentation

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.

As well as being the core document for all professionals working in the foundation years, the EYFS framework gives mums and dads confidence that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education, they can be assured that the same statutory commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.

In brief, the EYFS framework consists of:

3 Prime areas of learning

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional development

4 Specific areas of learning

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Each of these areas are subdivided and have their own Early Learning Goals against which children are assessed during the summer term of the FS2 year.

At Flanderwell, we place a great emphasis on encouraging our children to be independent learners right from the very beginning. Our creative and exciting curriculum is delivered through half termly topic based learning (see class pages for more details); however as we endeavor to engage and motivate each and every individual child our topics are constantly adapted to ensure that we plan for and meet the needs and interests of all of our children.

In both our Foundation Stage classes, children will experience a combination of whole class teaching sessions, small group adult-led learning and well planned purposeful child initiated activities. Children move freely between the indoor and outdoor areas and are continually supported and challenged in their learning by all of our staff in the Foundation Stage Team.

As the children progress through their FS2 year, the amount of structure during the sessions is gradually increased to ensure that all of our children are confident, independent learners, ready to enter their next phase of education in Year 1!

High value is placed upon building secure relationships with all pupils and their families and our staff are committed to ensuring this begins right from the start. Communication between home and school is paramount and we will endeavour to ensure that you are kept up to date and informed of your child’s progress and the latest news and events.

 A copy of our latest FOUNDATION STAGE BROCHURE can be found by following the link below:


We look forward to working with you.

Best wishes

Mrs Otter.